Season Archive: 2012/13

Sunday, September 30, 2012
6:00 pm Pre-Concert Talk; 7:00 pm Concert
Royce Hall

Alexander Treger, conductor
Simone Porter, violin

DOOLEY: Point Blank
PAGANINI: Violin Concerto No. 1
MAHLER: Symphony No. 1

Two young talents taking the world by storm set the tone for the 2012/13 season: Simone Porter (16) made her AYS solo debut, and composer Paul Dooley (29) joined AYS for the rehearsals and performance of Point Blank (2010).

Sunday, November 18, 2012
6:00 pm Free Concert; 8:00 pm Soirée with the musicians
Royce Hall

Alexander Treger, conductor
Radu Paponiu, assistant conductor 
Natasha Paremski, piano

BARBER: Overture to The School for Scandal
TCHAIKOVSKY: Piano Concerto No. 1
BERNSTEIN: West Side Story: Symphonic dances

This concert features the dazzling Russian-American pianist Natasha Paremski (24). Since her debut with the LA Phil, she has performed classical works and collaborated on contemporary projects with Gidon Kremer and Kremerata Baltica, the San Francisco Symphony, and the Moscow Philharmonic. A festive dinner with the orchestra will follow the concert. We hope you will join us in supporting our players.

Generously supported by the Flora L. Thornton Foundation

Saturday, February 16, 2013
6 pm Pre-Concert Talk
7 pm Concert
Royce Hall

Alexander Treger, conductor
Antonio Lysy, cello

CLYNE: <<rewind<<
PROKOFIEV: Concertino
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 2

<<rewind<<, composed in 2005 by London-born Anna Clyne, has since been performed by the finest orchestras in the world, including the BBC Symphony, the Chicago Symphony – where Clyne (32) is composer-in-residence – and most recently, the LA Phil.

We welcomed renowned cellist and Grammy award-winner Antonio Lysy in the rarely performed Concertino, a jewel completed after Prokofiev’s death by Mstislav Rostropovich. Lysy has worked closely with many AYS musicians as head of the strings department at UCLA, and soloed under Charles Dutoit, Sir Yehudi Menuhin, and Vladimir Ashkenazy.

Sunday, March 10, 2013
6 pm Pre-Concert Talk
7 pm Concert
Royce Hall

Alexander Treger, conductor
Jonah Levy trumpet
Duo Petrof, piano

SCHNITTKE: Concerto for Piano Four Hands
ZATIN: Double Concerto for Trumpet and Piano
SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 5

Anatoly Zatin and Vlada Vassilieva formed Duo Petrof as a joint venture with University of Colima, Mexico and Petrof Pianos. Their collaboration with AYS sees the Los Angeles premiere of Zatin’s Concerto for trumpet, piano and string orchestra, featuring AYS principal trumpet Jonah Levy.

April 28, 2013, 4:00 pm
Royce Hall

Alexander Treger, conductor
Radu Paponiu, assistant conductor
William Hagen & Stephen Tavani, violins
Simone Porter & Blake Pouliot, narrators

BACH: Concerto for 2 Violins
BRITTEN Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 7

More than 65 organizations are participating in Britten 100/LA, a city-wide celebration of the composer’s centenary, coordinated by the LA Opera.